“Each morning we are born again. What we do today matters most.”-Buddha

I read this quote recently and could not agree with it more. Each day, we are given the opportunity to renew ourselves, make a change, make a difference. Since returning from Ecuador, I have vowed to live by this philosophy.

The experience I had at the school in Quito opened my eyes once again to just how lucky Americans are and how easy it is to forget that. It is our responsibility as citizens of the US to never take for granted the privileges we are given merely because we were born in this country. There are numerous opportunities where we live to contribute something meaningful to society and not take advantage of the stereotypical American lifestyle.

Upon my return from Ecuador, I decided to start volunteering my time at a war veteran’s home close to where I live. My experience there taught me how serving others stateside can result in a similar feeling of serving those abroad. We can always do something. Our job is to never stop doing and never forget that people need people. We’re living in this world, not to consume it, but to contribute to it, making a difference in the process.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “

  1. chaunceystephens

    I love the last sentence of your post! “We’re living in this world, not to consume it, but to contribute to it, making a difference in the process.” That is such a powerful statement!

Leave a Reply

